Uncategorized

Things I would Tell my Younger Self

BelieveinyourselfAfter seeing a few of these types of posts on other blogs, I thought I would do one of my own. If only you could go back in time to give yourself a pep-talk! I really believe in not having regrets; things I have done in the past, I may not be proud of, but they have shaped the person I am today. I will try to keep this as short and sweet as possible, but there’s many things I would tell myself!

Believe in yourself!

Number one on my list for a reason! If someone told me I would have attended university, set up a business, gotten engaged and had a baby all before turning 24 years old; I would have laughed in their face. Or cried. To think everything I ever wanted in life would actually happen to me, I would never have believed. I still don’t!

Do things which make YOU happy!

I think the key to enjoying life, is to do things which make you happy. Whether that be occupation or hobbies. I have been in ‘better’ jobs but sat at a desk with a face like fizz. The wage at the end of the week didn’t do anything for my personal happiness whatsoever. I spent too much time thinking about the job title and how impressive it would look to others. Lesson learned!

Worry less! 

This sort of ties in with the previous point. But I have spent so much of my life worrying. About money, occupation, education, relationships and life in general. What is meant to be will be and there’s no way to change that. Have fun and stop worrying! If things get really bad – do something about it!

Hard work pays off!

This is another biggy for me personally. I used to give up when things didn’t work out straight away. Whether that be at university or in my relationships. Now, I have learned that working hard really does pay off and things aren’t handed to you on a plate! Would be nice if they were though …

Take the Good with the Bad!

Just like everyone else in the world, I’ve had my share of hell. If I could have told myself that things do get better, I may not have wasted a time of my life and may have reacted differently.

But also, to really enjoy the good times. Unfortunate things which have happened in my life has made me appreciate everything good I have. My family, my fiancé, my life in general. I have my struggles like everyone does, but the sun is shining on the other side!

Don’t let people get to you!

This has been a major factor in the tough times I have went through. I wish I could have told myself that life goes on way after high school ends and the nasty people you come across won’t be in your life then. If I hadn’t allowed the little people to get to me, I would have stuck in at school and wouldn’t have had to make up for lost time, years later.

Choose your friends wisely!

Spot the user early and save yourself so much time and anger! It’s better having a few close friends that care, than a group that doesn’t. I feel the good times in life, shows who your friends are. The jealous one’s won’t last.

Focus on YOU!

I don’t mean this in a selfish manner. I mean that sometimes you have to put yourself in front of others. I don’t do this very often but now again I need to for my own sanity at least!

Talk it out!

Maybe if I had learned young to talk things through that bother me, I wouldn’t have wasted years of my life bottling things up, to later come to a head. I could have saved my family a lot of heartache, and myself. It’s better to talk than be silent. Silence can make you do such crazy things.

There are so many things I would love to tell myself, but I thought I would keep this short and sweet. I will save the monstrous post for later!

What would you tell your younger self if you had the chance?! Let me know.

Much love,

x WNL

Leave a Reply

