Motivational Monday | Making Mistakes

source:quotesgram.com
source: quotesgram.com

Just like everybody else in this world, I have made my fair share of mistakes along the way. I’ve made mistakes both big and small and for years I was consumed by them; I compared myself to others and my mind was taken over by the ‘negatives’. I was my own worst enemy.

I looked back and wished I’d worked harder at school, I left in 4th year with standard grades and was a bit lost as to where I wanted to go. I didn’t enjoy school, in fact I absolutely hated it. It wasn’t school as such, but the bullies who ruined the whole experience for me. I needed out, I needed away from toxic people and now I realise, I made the right choice for me at that time. My personal happiness outweighed staying at school for one or two more years.

I wish I knew then what I know now, you can fix your mistakes, there is more than one path to choose. Leaving school early and my lost years, I still managed to go to college and university. I done the things I wanted to do. I just chose another path. You can achieve anything you want in life and you can choose how you go about achieving those things.

I have also made some personal mistakes that I will never get back. I have moved away, I no longer bump into people that reminds me of that time and I needed that. Some might view this as running away from your problems, but I am happy with my life now.

As humans we all make mistakes, it’s part of life and growing up. I think the main lesson is how we go about fixing them or learning from them. There is a lot of pressure to follow a certain path in life, or be a certain person, but we need to be ourselves to be truly happy. Take your mistakes on the chin, laugh about them (if you can) and make a plan to rectify them. For example, I made the mistake of eating a box of chocolates last night…I plan to rectify this by going out for a 3 course meal with my family later today. No, but seriously, don’t let your mistakes define you. Don’t get weighed down by the negatives, look at the positives. I made a mistake but I done this to fix it – I am not a failure.

Sometimes I think I have my mistakes imprinted on my forehead for everyone to see. Of course that is not the case! The only person feeding these negative thoughts was myself. It has taken a while to stop and put these under control but I feel so much better for it. They made me who I am today and I’ve learned so much because of them, about myself and the world in general. So, if you have any negative thoughts about mistakes you’ve made this week and try and refocus, look on the positive side and plan to rectify them (if you can) or just let ’em go. Life is far too short to let things fester.

Much love,

Natalie x

Leave a Reply

