lifestyle

Organising & Decluttering – Where to Start?

organise

Now that January is upon us, I find a lot of us are thinking of decluttering and organising our lives and our homes; well I certainly am. My mood is definitely affected if I have an untidy home, I need to keep on top of things to keep stress at bay – tidy house, tidy mind ethos. However, organising and de-cluttering can be quite overwhelming, especially if you don’t know where to start. So here’s how I organise my home and become clutter-free.

Problem Areas

Firstly, you need to find the problem areas in your home. Doing this will highlight what needs to be implemented in order to avoid the clutter in future. When I do this, I usually find new homes for things, make use of boxes and baskets we have already, or bring some sort of new storage into play. But don’t rush out and buy just anything – really think about what you need and what will work.

Plan & Purchase

I walked round our home and made a note of the rooms which require immediate attention. After Christmas, Oliver’s bedroom is top priority. Even though I put a lot of family members off buying O any toys, we still seemed to accumulate quite a few! So, they need a home and are #1 on my To Do List. With our current storage, I try to find ways to make them work better for us; failing that I will make a list of things I need to buy. I detest waste, so I spend a lot of time thinking and properly planning this stage – what would work best in the room, what size are the items I need to store away and what will make full use of a particular space and will I grow with age (Oliver is 20 months old right now – will it last until he’s 3,4,5 etc?).

Declutter

Tip everything out in front of you, this will make it clear as to what you are dealing with. Before I find everything a home I like to go through each individual item and place in to one of four piles – Keep, Bin, Garage or Charity. Garage storage usually only comes into play if I want to put away O’s old clothes or toys or random baby bits. I am not a hoarder, I can be quite brutal when it comes to decluttering, if it hasn’t been used and we have no genuine need for it – it will go!

So this is how I declutter and organise our home. I have a few things on my list that needs doing but my priority is sorting O’s bedroom and purchasing a unit for this. Hopefully I can drag the other half to the shops this weekend or next; as it really needs done. I hope you’ve found this post helpful and I will be showing you all how I organise different parts of our home over the coming weeks – so keep an eye out for those!

Does January make you want to organise and declutter? Let me know in the comments!

N xxx

 

Leave a Reply

